Language Course Reviews

Our students’ feedback enables us to monitor and maintain the quality of our language courses, ensure they are getting the most out of their course, and help new students choose the right course for them. As such our language course reviews are invaluable to us and you. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to send us their comments. The comments below have been selected by Cactus. You can also find reviews from the independent website www.reviews.co.uk.

January 2017 Language Course Reviews

Andrew, London – Holborn-Russell Square, Greek Beginnner 1

“Teacher was incredibly patient, taught very clearly and I would not hesitate to recommend.”

Chloe, London – Holborn-Russell Square Italian Elementary 1

“Our teacher was great in this course. Alberto prepared each lesson and the course followed a good structure. He was very encouraging to the whole group and he managed well the different abilities of the students. Alberto was always willing to provide some extra support to students if we had questions. His explanations of grammar rules were also very clear. I cannot fault his teaching.”

Anna, London – Holborn-Russell Square Norwegian Beginnner 1

“Sana is a very passionate teacher. She not only introduced me to the beginning of Norwegian language but also told us anecdotes about Norway, lifestyle and history. Sana is very encouraging and did her best to promote learning of Norwegian both inside and outside of the classroom. She recommended various videos and speeches that we could watch to improve our early skills. I am very very satisfied!”

Khasha, London – Holborn-Russell Square French Advanced 2

“Brilliant, knowledgable and creative teacher. Probably the best French teacher I’ve ever had.”

Ashley, London – Holborn-Russell Square German Beginnner 1

“Brilliant teacher, excellent content.”

Joana, London – Islington Spanish Beginner 2

“Richard has been a wonderful teacher and has made the classes very fun and useful.”

Elizabeth, London – Islington Italian Beginnner 1

“Angela taught useful topics, my friend was studying at a different school and was jealous of how much we covered.”

Matt, Brighton Spanish Beginner 2

“Superb, loved it. Amaia was excellent. One of the best teachers I’ve ever had.”

Stephen, Manchester Italian Beginnner 1

“I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I found Gianni supportive and friendly and he also challenged the class in the right way.”

Vanessa, London – Kings Cross Italian Elementary 2

“Christian was a brilliant teacher, he always ensured a very comfortable, personable and interactive style to each and every class. The small class size was perfect.”

Christine, London – Holborn-Russell Square Greek Beginnner 1

“I have enjoyed this course immensely. Yorgos is a very good teacher, patient and very good at getting the information across. I am looking forward to doing Beginners 2 with him.”

Mark, London – Holborn-Russell Square Cantonese Beginner 2

“The teaching for this lesson has been superb. Jenny is extremely patient, and works hard to engage us in cantonese conversation. I have had cantonese lessons from other teachers before, but I feel this time I have learnt a good deal about putting sentences together. I am certainly going to continue with this course if I can.”

Tony, Leeds French Elementary 3

“Good tutors, good course material, convenient location (for me) and a good course progression structure.”

Sean, Leeds German Beginnner 1

“Loved my class and the friendliness of the people around me. Ortrun is a very experienced teacher which made me feel confident that she was the right teacher to answer my queries and help me understand what I needed to.”

Andrena, London – Wimbledon French Upper Intermediate 2

“Romie is an excellent and experienced teacher who is acutely aware of all the diverse needs and skills of her students. Romie is so experienced she quickly picks up on the individual needs and learning requirements of all of her students. She has a lovely manner and students do not feel threatened if they may perhaps be struggling. She keeps the course material diverse and interesting. The conversational French is of s high standard.”

Chris, Manchester Italian Beginner 2

“Small class which gave me a great opportunity to speak the language more. Learnt a lot. Fantastic. Sara was very friendly and patient. She explained the subject very well and checked our levels of understanding. I hope she is my teacher for the next part of the course.2

Edward, Oxford Spanish Beginnner 1

“Well organised, good content, excellent teacher creating a good atmosphere in the class.”

Diana, London – Holborn-Russell Square, Croatian Beginnner 1

“Really enjoyable, entertaining teaching style -Deana was very good at teaching and reinforcing difficult grammatical points, while also focusing on cultural aspects. She was kind and patient, creating an environment where it wasn’t humiliating to make a mistake. She made some great quizzes/wordfill tests as well! She had us moving around the classroom to speak in Croatian with each other too.”

October 2016 Language Course Reviews

Lesia, London, Dutch Beginner 2

“Aimee is a great teacher and I feel I’m improving with my new language”

Dimitris, Brighton, Portuguese Beginner 1

“Very competent and enthusiastic teacher”

Emma, Manchester, Spanish Beginner 1

“Miguel is incredibly friendly, dedicated and committed. He had a brilliant knack of getting the best out of the class.”

Teresa, London, Italian Beginner 3

“I was very pleased with the amount of speaking which we were required to do in each lesson, and with the variety of exercises used in each lesson. Alberto was encouraging, patient and good at challenging us to use the language skills we have so far gained to the best of our ability.”

Irene, London, Italian Beginner 3

“Alberto is an excellent teacher. Well prepared, always on time, structured, kind, informative, engaging and builds rapport.”

Sophie, London, Italian Upper Intermediate 3

“I really enjoyed the structure of lessons, small size of class, variety of format and opportunity to talk a lot, and the teacher and people in my class have been really friendly and fun to see each week.”

Geri, London, Danish Beginner 1

“Made the class feel at ease, very enjoyable classes, adapted to everyone’s needs, learned at lot in a short time without it been stressful.”

Marvin, London, German Upper Intermediate 2

“Robert was extremely competent, patient and made learning fun. He knows the subject matter well and was always interested in what we had to say. He would correct our pronunciation, spelling etc even out of the classroom.
He made learning a difficult subject a lot of fun.”

Jan, Oxford, Japanese Beginner 1

“I can’t imagine a nicer teacher for my first foreign language evening course. Nabi was always friendly, helpful, approachable and well-informed. She is a good person as well as a good teacher.”

Gareth, Manchester, Italian Beginner 2

“Every class was well balanced and well delivered. Carmela was always happy to assist and go that extra mile if things needed explaining in more detail.”

Katriina, London, French Intermediate 1

“Monique is the best French teacher I’ve ever had. She’s taught me for two terms now and I’ve had a real breakthrough with the language. My basic communication skills – comprehension, pronunciation and grammar have improved a lot.”

Paul, London, German Beginner 1

“He is quite funny, made the classes easy to follow and really went out of his way to help people out.”

July 2016 Language Course Reviews

Lesia, London, Dutch Beginner 1

“Our teacher works to make a special session every lesson. Encourages us to practice and she prepares smart and interesting exercises (such look for movies, music, funny facts about Netherlands, etc).”

Lena, London, Portuguese Elementary 2

“Eliana is a fantastic teacher, the best we’ve had so far!”

Chris, London, Portuguese Elementary 2

“Eliana de Caires has been an amazing teacher. She used various teaching techniques to help everyone in the class learn and stay engaged with the language. I am sad to hear she will not be teaching us during the next session.”

Irene, London, German Beginner 2

“The teacher gave us a great base for future learning. Every lecture was full of relevant information that motivated me even more to learn the language and the culture.”

Julie, Oxford, Spanish Upper Intermediate 1

“Very engaging enthusiastic teacher able to adapt to needs of class members sympathetically”

Josephine, Liverpool, Italian Beginner 1

“Teacher was clear and enthusiastic. Homework was well targeted and challenging enough without being remedial. Great start to my Italian language learning.”

Ian, Manchester, German Beginner 3

“Aidan O’Rourke was very good and went at a pace that suited the class. His years of experience and his joy for the language was obvious. Third course with Aidan and feel I have made a big improvement in my language skills.”

Andrea, Brighton, French Beginner 3

“I learned so much in this level and I could manage to improve my pronunciation. I found it very satisfying and every each time I couldn’t wait to learn something new!”

Sheila, Oxford, Spanish Upper Intermediate 1

“Paco is an excellent teacher. Always interesting and he judges our level well.”

Stanislav, London, French Elementary 1

“Alexandre Diaz was fantastic – one of those teachers who really cares about how people progress in their learning – 10 marks out of 10.”

Amy, Leeds, French Beginner 1

“My teacher was incredible for this course! I’ve never had such an energised and creative teacher. It made all the difference, particularly as I have experience learning a language at beginner level and it can be a struggle. It was great to feel so supported by such an experienced teacher, I’m very satisfied with the experience and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this teacher.”

Meena, Brighton, Spanish Beginner 3

“Javier was one of the best teachers I have had at cactus, he made learning fun.”

Daniel, Manchester, Japanese Beginner 1

“Nicolas is an amazing teacher! So approachable and friendly. He made the lessons a joy to look forward to each week!”

April 2016 Language Course Reviews

Sinead, Liverpool, Portuguese Beginner 1

“Ian was an excellent teacher. I am disappointed that due to other commitments I am not currently able to advance to Beginner 2 level with him.”

Dan, Manchester, Italian Elementary 2

“Absolutely brilliant!! Explains hard to understand concepts easily relating ideas to familiar concepts.”

Dorota, London, French Beginner 1

“Catherine – great teacher, her classes were intresting, fun. Very positive, warm, accessible, enthusiastic and professional. What a shame she is leaving.”

Julie, Oxford, Spanish Intermediate 3

“Makes the sessions fun and informative and varied types of learning. Kept in e mail contact to summarise lessons, answer questions and set homework. Went through homework thoroughly so made it worthwhile completing it. Helped us all to work as a group so that we all want to continue lessons.”

Claudia, London, French Intermediate 1

“Romie is a great teacher, she totally makes the course worthwhile. I have no words to thank her for all her efforts, patience and enthusiasm. I wouldn’t have gone this far on the course if it wasn’t for her. Amazing teacher.”

Chris, London, Swedish Upper Intermediate 1

“Really enjoyed having Per Hedlund as a teacher — lovely guy, very enthusiastic and very timely giving feedback on homework.”

Diana, London, Italian Beginner 2

“Lessons very enjoyable – good mixture of materials. Really appreciated immersion method using mainly Italian only using (well nuanced) English to confirm complex ideas or vocabulary. I found grammar points really “stuck” with this course learnt so that if you found yourself repeating the same error you could self-correct.”

Rebecca, Brighton, Portuguese Beginner 1

“Our teacher was excellent and fully immersed us in Portuguese from the first minute of the course.”

Clementine, Brighton, Spanish Beginner 2

“Javier is an amazing teacher and he is a really nice and patient person.”

Andrew, Liverpool, Italian Beginner 2

“Teacher was brilliant. Great to have a native speaker and someone who gels so well with the class.”

Patricia, Liverpool, Italian Beginner 1

“Great content, great tutor. Fun class to learn in. Very high quality. Good course book and handouts provided by tutor. Very high quality teaching, excellent balance of formal and informal teaching.”

Laura, London, Spanish Beginner 1

“The teaching has been excellent. I had no Spanish 10 weeks ago and feel I have learnt a lot. Arantxa is an excellent teacher.”

Michelle, London, French Beginner 1

“There were some issues to start with but the Cactus staff were so professional & listened to feedback then acted very promptly with a resolution. I was very impressed with the way they have handled any concerns I’ve had. Because of this excellent service I will most definitely enrol in all future courses with Cactus.
Guillaume has been an excellent teacher the last 8 weeks. He always has a thorough lesson planned & has used a number of different mediums to help us understand the learning objective. I have enjoyed learning through games he’s created & through video clips/music clips. Guillaume is a patient tutor & is very good at explaining things in an easy & understandable manner. If necessary, he has been excellent at adapting his teaching style to best suit our class as a whole, as well as for individuals if they have difficulty understanding something in particular. Personally, I have had difficulty grasping some grammatical concepts but Guillaume has always been patient & approachable in helping me with these difficulties & I am more confident in my ability to understand & implement the basic French we have learnt as a result. For me this 8 week beginner course has been an enjoyable way to learn French & I’m grateful for all the help Guillaume has given to ensure I learn as effectively as possible. I hope he can continue with our class in Beginner 2.”

Andy, Manchester, Italian

“Elisa has been a fantastic teacher! She has made learning a difficult language much easier and is very supportive of her class. I have really learned a lot from her and really enjoyed the course.”

January 2016 Language Course Reviews

Ian, Manchester, German Beginner 1

“It was a very good mix of using a text and the tutor’s own material, both written and audio, which he has built up over his years of teaching. A very experienced tutor, Aidan O’Rourke, who made it an enjoyable course. I have picked up a lot of information and skills, for the level, while on the course. A good balance between listening, reading and speaking skills.”

Sam, London Islington, Italian Beginner 2

“Maria was excellent; the lessons were informative and fun. I particularly enjoyed her ability to follow and control tangential topics and she was very patient with writing all phrases up on the board.”

Helen, London Bond Street, French Elementary 2

“Romie Lamah is the best teacher I have ever had, I feel I’ve learnt more with her in 10 weeks than I did in years of having lessons. Her energy is infectious, we are all tired from work but she holds our attention for 2 hours and ensures that we all participate. She is particularly good at encouraging everyone to speak without fear of pressure or ridicule. I’ve signed up for next term.”

Gillian, Brighton, French Beginner 1

“Nadia Bloch was an amazing teacher. She was very passionate and encouraging throughout.”

Marcela, Brighton, Italian Beginner 2

“Grazia Nicitra is amazing teacher! Her lessons are fun and she taught us a lot in a very short period of time. Grazie Mille Grazia ????”

Cesar, London Islington, French Beginner 2

“Munique was my Teacher. She is an expert in teaching, she makes the class interesting and funny. I really enjoyed this module and I have learned a lot. I wish to have Munique teaching in the next module again.”

Aleksandra, London Holborn, Spanish Beginner 3

“Carmen is a fantastic teacher. Devoted and motivating. Always on time, always prepared. Very patient and friendly. I decided to continue this course as I am found of her teaching method. He always makes sure the class understands everything and she prepares very interesting excercises for revisions.”

Cynthia, London Holborn, Spanish Elementary 2

“Paula is an excellent teacher. She is very thorough and patient. She plans the lessons well and her homework is relevant and helps to firm up what we have learnt in each lesson. Her lessons are enjoyable and full of different exercises so that in each one we have excellent elements of listening, speaking and reading.”

Ana, Brighton, French Elementary 1

“My teacher is highly qualified and has a very clear idea on what her students’ needs are. We have learn a lot on the courses that we have taken with her so I can confirm that, as a group, we are very happy with Salomee as our teacher and we want to continue studying with her in the next stage. She has also been very responsive every time that I couldn’t assist to the lessons. I give her a 10/10.”

Rob, London Holborn, French Elementary 2

“I thought that Monique was an excellent teacher. She made the classes entertaining, inclusive and fun.”

Peter, London Holborn, German Intermediate 3

“Great teacher in Ursula, very patient and teaches the language well.”

Pamela, Brighton, Spanish Beginner 1

“Javier Paz is an amazing teacher. We all loved his lessons and learned a lot. He is funny, intelligent and a great teacher.”

Sarah, Leeds, German Beginner 1

“Ortrun Campbell is a fantastic teacher. Very engaging, interesting and goes beyond her remit at Cactus to ensure we fully understand topics. She is kind and a large part of the reason that I will continue these lessons.”

Adriana, Leeds, German Elementary 1

“Excellent tutor, very dedicated and with full command of grammar.”

October 2015 Language Course Reviews

Natalya, Bristol, German Beginner 2

“Professional level of teaching. Alexander spots our mistakes and corrects them. I have made a huge progress. Owning to this course I started speaking German. Before I came to this course I couldn’t say a sentence, or just really very simple ones: what is your name, where do you live, that’s all I could say. But now I feel a big progress.

I am very happy and find it very interesting to study at this course. I can’t wait to continue the course on the next level – Beginner 3, and I would like to have the same teacher Alexander as he is very professional and efficient.

Alexander can establish a good bond with the group. Everybody in the group was happy.”

Jane, Leeds, Italian Beginner 1

“The 10 weeks have been a whistle-stop tour of some of the basics in the present tense, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I have picked up by doing an in class test that Consuelo had designed, I am looking forward to the next set of 10 beginner lessons with Consuelo.”

Wendy, Liverpool, French Beginner 1

“Sarah is an excellent teacher. I enjoy her teaching and she takes everyone’s individual level into account. A fun and real French experience.”

Regina, Liverpool, Japanese Beginner 1

“Leon’s teaching techniques are really good and easy to follow! I never really thought I would be able to learn a new language, especially something as difficult as Japanese. But shockingly, I did and enjoyed every single sessions!”

Ian, Liverpool, Spanish Intermediate

“Lorea is a very patient and understanding teacher who appreciates everyone’s level.”

Aaron, Bond Street, Italian Advanced

“My fourth course with Ugo. Lots of progress so far, I would like to continue at Cactus with Ugo as a teacher.”

Siobhan, Holborn, Croatian Beginner 1

“The course was excellent. The course was better than I expected and very comprehensive. The small number of students meant that we got lots of help and an intensive learning experience. I have learnt a lot.

The course was fantastic. I have been trying to find a Croatian course in London for some time. It is quite rare! I am very pleased I found Cactus and enrolled. I now need to continue to practice the language on my own, to ensure I instil what I have learnt.”

Lucy, Holborn, Turkish Beginner 1

“Harika is a fantastic teacher who makes learning fun and interactive. I have really enjoyed the last 10 weeks and look forward to the next module.”

Carole, Holborn, Turkish Beginner 1

“Really enjoyed the classes, our teacher Harika is great.”

Stephanie, Kings Cross, Italian Beginner 1

“Carmen was excellent in conveying Italian to us, she was patient and very interested in us. I believe I can now understand most of Italian conversations and I feel more confident to participate myself.”

Tiarnan, Kings Cross, Portuguese Beginner 2

“Great teacher! Very fun and helpful and creates a great atmosphere in the class.”

Jennifer, Wimbledon, French Beginner 1

“Anais provided a lot of external learning resources, including music, films, journals, Newspapers and you tube videos which were excellent and really helpful for learning. Anais is an excellent teacher. She adapted the course to our learning needs and interests.”

Yolanda, Wimbledon, French Beginner 1

“We have learned so many things taking into account 10 weeks have been the length of the course. The teacher was really professional. All classes were prepared very well. She did her best to motivate us.”

James, Wimbledon, French Beginner 1

“Overall the course was very good. I have learnt a lot, and feel more confident speaking French. The content was suitably targeted to our level, and it definitely helped with our comprehension that the tasks were explained in French first, and then English if we didn’t understand. This helped us start to think in French, and gave us the opportunity to try and work out the meaning of new words we hadn’t met yet. Teaching was excellent. Anais targeted the classes at the right level to be challenging and enjoyable. I feel like I have made good progress and I look forward to learning more.”

Hafsa, Manchester, Arabic Beginner 1

“Iman was very professional and a great teacher overall. She was lively and friendly and made the lessons extremely enjoyable. I learnt a lot with her and have been so pleased with the classes. I hope she is still the teacher for the next course! I was so surprised about how much we learnt as beginners. We were all shocked with how much we were able to say and read at the end of the course.”

Gemal, Manchester, Arabic Beginner 1

“I was surprise at how much we have learned in the short time. The book was really good. Iman helped us to avoid some of the pitfalls of it and we got a lot out of the activities.”

Peter, Manchester, Polish Beginner 1

“I have made a lot of progress with Ela Linton as we covered so much in the later lessons. Grammar is difficult but my teacher was very helpful!”

Matthieu, Manchester, Polish Beginner 1

“Great as the teacher asked us what we wanted to do/learn she tried to keep it simple and focus on practical things to learn Really Happy with Ela, the new teacher. I learnt a lot and it was in a relaxed and working atmosphere.”

Heather, Manchester, Spanish Elementary 1

“I enjoy learning with Clara she is a good, patient teacher.”

Zsolt, Oxford, French Beginner 3

“I have found the course very instructive and building my French knowledge thanks for my good teacher and her work.”

Kelly, Oxford, French Beginner 3

“I was very impressed with our teacher. She is very positive and encouraging and after only a few weeks was able to get us all speaking in French – something that seemed impossible at week 1. She even made the hard-core grammar parts fun. I have gained a lot of confidence with speaking which was my main aim. I still have a long way to go but I feel that the course was worth the time and money spent.”

Lesley, Sheffield, French Beginner 1

“I really enjoyed the whole experience.”

April 2015 Language Course Reviews

Shelley, Spanish Beginner 2 in Liverpool

“Immersive learning is intensive and like being thrown in at the deep end, but very effective!

Covered a variety of topics as well as going in depth on grammar use, pronunciation, etc. More written and listening work than the Beginner 1 course, which was very helpful.

[The Teaching was] Excellent – our teacher was patient, encouraging, explained everything clearly, incorporated individual needs and made classes fun.

We had everything we needed and were provided with any additional materials we asked for.

I couldn’t believe how much I learned in the Beginner 1 course, and the Beginner 2 course has built on that much more than I expected. I feel that I have learned a great deal in a short time and I am much more confident in my abilities.”

Ambreen, Turkish Beginner 1 in London Holborn

“A great introductory course. Harika was a great teacher, it was obvious she cared about the student’s learning and made the lessons engaging and well planned. The course was exactly what I was looking for and the teacher made sure we all understood. I feel I made good progress, more than I expected.”

Joanna, German Beginner 1 in London Russell Square

“Peggy was fantastic. We had various exercises each lesson. I found her very easy to talk to and very helpful. She is a great teacher. I have learnt a lot. From grammar, vocabulary, lots of reading and writing too. I think I’m well prepared for the next level and I wish it would be with Peggy again.”

Bibi, French Beginner 1 in Liverpool

“My Tutor was very good, and very firm, I’ve made lots of improvement, now I can go to Paris on my own and be able to communicate.”

Ben, Japanese Beginner 1 in Manchester

“The course was well planned out with a good amount of work set each week. Nicholas is a very good teacher. Good teaching style. Definitely knows his stuff. Makes lessons enjoyable. I feel that thanks to the course I now have a solid starting point for continuing to learn Japanese.”

Paul, Portuguese Beginner 1 in Manchester

“Very effective and enthusiastic teaching. Sara always related our classes to everyday situations and aspects of Portuguese culture where relevant, which made the course interesting and fun.”

Camille, Chinese (Mandarin) Beginner 1 in London Bond Street

“Amazing teacher. Great way to build up language skills. A lot of practice and repetitions for every one. Really enjoyed it!”

Tabara, French Beginner 1 in London Bond Street

“Tabara is very patient and an excellent teacher. Hope to have her for our next course. Teachers can only do so much in 2 hours. Students need to do a little extra between classes to stay up to date. Tabara ensured we had homework but never piled it on us. Loved her classes.”

January 2015 Language Course Reviews

Tim, German Intermediate 1 at London Tottenham Court Road

“Great. Really good balance of grammar, vocabulary, speaking and listening activities. Very very good. One of the best teachers I’ve had at Cactus – good use of course book (Menschen) and secondary course book for homework tasks (Schritte). The white board is used by Mark to great effect. Audio from Schritte used to re-inforce learning at the end of a lesson. Very effective. An excellent variety of activities – particularly the games which are very fun and encourage speaking. I really really like the games… a lot. The class is conducted nearly in 100% German – which is very very important to me. Excellent grammar overviews which aren’t overloading/too much in one lesson. Excellent use of whiteboard to write down new vocabulary/grammatical examples. A good amount of homework – not too much, not too little. Homework is very relevant to work we have recently studied in class and hence is not too hard. Beautiful location next to the British Museum. The staff at this school are very friendly and helpful. Excellent. Leticia kept me well informed about the location/teacher of the class ahead of time, as always.”

Chris, German Beginner 3 in Liverpool

“Romina puts a lot of effort into her preparation and has tailored her approach to suit the needs of the current class members. I like the fact that she speaks in German but also checks that we have understood what she has said by repeating key phrases in English. The Cactus staff have been very helpful and polite.”

Margaret, French Beginner 3 in London Russell Square

“I really can’t stress how much respect I have for Emmanuelle. She is such a conscientious and passionate teacher, and a huge assest to the Cactus team. Emma is incredibly prepared, qualified, and passionate about teaching. I love her class and find her exercises very helpful.”

Anja, Spanish Elementary 1 in Manchester

“It is getting easier and easier to speak as our vocab is increasing. I have really enjoyed this term.”

 

  • SKY1
  • TIME & LEISURE
  • FRIDAY-AD
  • LONDON LANGUAGE SHOW